



Non-Recognition and Conflict Dynamics in the Cyprus and International Context

Home for Cooperation, Markou Drakou 28, Nicosia, Cyprus Tuesday, June 13, 2017, 3:00 to 6:30 p.m.

Program

3:00 – 4:30 p.m. <u>Working session I</u>

Chair Thomas de Waal, senior fellow, Carnegie Europe

Nina Caspersen, professor, Department of Politics, University of York

Bruno Coppieters, head of the department of Political Science, Free University

of Brussels

4:30 – 5:00 p.m. <u>Coffee Break</u>

5:00 – 6:30 p.m. Working session II

Chair Hubert Faustmann, director, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Cyprus;

professor, Department of European Studies and International Relations,

University of Nicosia

Rebecca **Bryant**, professor, Department of Cultural Anthropology,

Utrecht University

7:00 p.m. onwards <u>Dinner at 'Sabor' restaurant, Selimiye Sokak, Lefkoşa</u>





Participants

- 1. J.-Sebastian Amberger, intern, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Cyprus
- Umut Bozkurt, assistant professor, Department of Political Science & International Relations, Eastern Mediterranean University
- 3. Rebecca Bryant, professor, Department of Cultural Anthropology, Utrecht University
- 4. Nina **Caspersen**, professor, Department of Politics, University of York
- 5. Christophoros Christophorou, special training scientist, Department of Computer Science, University of Cyprus
- 6. Emine Çolak, lawyer, Human Rights Activist
- 7. Costas M. Constantinou, professor, Department of Social and Political Sciences, University of Cyprus
- 8. Bruno Coppieters, head of the department of Political Science, Free University of Brussels
- 9. İlke Dağlı Hustings, chief operating officer, The Centre for Sustainable Peace and Democratic Development
- 10. Andreas Demetriou, professor emeritus, University of Nicosia
- 11. Thomas de Waal, senior fellow, Carnegie Europe
- 12. Hubert Faustmann, director, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Cyprus
- 13. Takis Hadjidemetriou, co-chairman, Cultural Heritage Technical Committee
- 14. Maria Hadjipavlou, member, Technical Committee for Gender Equality
- 15. Yeshim Harris, director, Engi Conflict Management
- Erol Kaymak, professor, Department of Political Science & International Relations, Eastern Mediterranean University
- 17. Nur **Köprülü**, head, Department of Political Science of the Near East University Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
- 18. Alexandros Lordos, research director, Centre for Sustainable Peace and Democratic Development
- 19. Farid Mirbagheri, associate head, Department of European Studies & International Relations, University of Nicosia
- 20. Christiane Paparoditis, project manager, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Cyprus
- 21. Charis Psaltis, associate professor, Department of Psychology, University of Cyprus
- Iacovos Psaltis, doctor of professional studies in educational management, European Citizens' Initiative
 "Invest in Education"
- 23. Sertaç Sonan, faculty member, Faculty of International Relations, Cyprus International University
- 24. Ahmet **Sözen**, professor, Department of Political Science & International Relations, Eastern Mediterranean University
- 25. Fikri Toros, president, Turkish Cypriot Chamber of Commerce
- 26. Nicos Trimikliniotis, associate professor, Department of Social Sciences, University of Nicosia
- 27. Ali Tuncay, co-chairman, Cultural Heritage Technical Committee
- 28. Yücel Vural, professor, Department of Political Science & International Relations, Eastern Mediterranean University